Representative Ed Markey (D-MA) won the special election for Secretary of State John Kerry’s vacated Senate seat on June 25. The win means Representative Markey will give up his position as Ranking Member of the House Natural Resources Committee. Next in line for the spot are Representatives Peter DeFazio (D-OR) and Raúl Grijalva (D-AZ); on June 24, 178 environmental groups, including the Center for Biological Diversity, sent a letter to House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) advocating for Representative Grijalva. Democrats will vote on the position after the July 4th recess.