New Jersey joined the group of states that bar employers from requiring or requesting that current or prospective employees provide access to their personal social media accounts.  This brings the number of states with similar restrictions to thirteen, including Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, Illinois, Maryland, Michigan, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah and Washington.  Although New Jersey has applied such prohibitions to higher educational institutions for some time, the state now has extended them to companies and other organizations.  The law takes effect on December 1, 2013.