On 29 September 2011, the Comisión del Mercado de las Telecomunicaciones (CMT) issued a decision stating that the telecommunications operators Telefónica, Movistar, Vodafone and France Telecom are under an obligation to contribute to the financing of the telecommunications universal service for 2008.

On the same date, the CMT also approved a freeze in Telefonica’s subscription fees for fixed communications services, which are currently EUR 13.97 per month.