The British Virgin Islands Government announced today that it has signed a Tax Information Exchange Agreement (TIEA) with France, bringing to 11 the number of TIEAs currently in place between the BVI and member states of the OECD. Premier Hon. Ralph T. O'Neal travelled to France where he signed the agreement today with the French Minister in charge of Budget, Hon. Éric Woerth.

In May the BVI signed TIEAs with Denmark, The Faroes, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden. The Territory had previous agreements with Australia, the USA, and the United Kingdom.

Hon. O'Neal has previously stated that the BVI will shortly sign a TIEA with New Zealand and that it will continue negotiations with other countries, actions which are expected to elevate the British overseas territory to the OECD's 'White List' in the near future.

Read the complete press release.