On 19 June, pursuant to Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/959, amending Council Decision 2014/386/CFSP, the EU extended its sanctions against Russia relating to the annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol until 23 June 2016. Originally due to expire on 23 June 2015, these sanctions include a prohibition on the import of products from Crimea or Sevastopol into the EU, investment in or the provision of financial services to Crimea or Sevastopol, the provision of tourism services to the region, and on the export of a wide range of goods or technologies to Crimea or Sevastopol relating to the transport, telecommunications, and energy sectors or in the oil, gas, and minerals industries.

In its press release, the Council reiterated its condemnation of Russia’s illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol and its commitment to the full implementation of its “non-recognition policy”.