The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act ("ARRA") established the HIT Policy Committee, which is charged with developing a "policy framework" for the development of a nationwide HIT infrastructure. The Comptroller General recently appointed 13 individuals to the Committee. In addition, ARRA provides that each of the four Congressional leaders shall appoint an individual to the Committee. New members of the HIT Policy Committee, appointed by the Senate and House leaders, include:  

  • House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D- CA) appointed Paul Egerman, chair and CEO at eScription Inc., Needham, M A.  
  • House Minority Leader John Boehner (R- OH) appointed Gayle Harrell of Stuart, Fla., a former member of the Florida House of Representatives.  
  • Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-N V) appointed Frank Nemec, M.D., a Las Vegasbased gastroenterologist.  
  • Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R- KY) has not yet announced his appointment.  

A list of the GAO appointments can be found at the following address: