Senators Dan Coats (R-IN) and David Vitter (R-LA) introduced legislation (S. 3404) July 19 to establish within the Department of Energy an Office of Federal Energy Production.

The same day, Senator Mike Johanns (R-NE) introduced legislation (S. 3408) to prohibit the Secretary of Energy from enforcing regulations pertaining to certain battery chargers.

Representative Paul Gosar (R-AZ) introduced legislation (H.R. 6154) to promote the development of renewable energy on public lands.