On 7 September 2010, U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) issued a reminder to Visa Waiver Program (VWP) travelers that the $14 fee for Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) applications would begin the next day, 8 September. ESTA is an electronic travel authorization that all nationals of VWP countries must obtain prior to boarding a carrier to travel by air or sea to the United States under the VWP. The fee is composed of $4 to recover the costs incurred by CBP of providing and administering the ESTA system and the mandatory $10 travel promotion fee established by the Travel Promotion Act of 2009. Payments must be made by credit or debit card and may be made through a third party, such as a travel agent, since the name on the credit card does not have to match the name of the traveler.