On December 10, 2015, the European Commission announced that it had formally requested 10 EU countries to fully implement the EU Deposit Guarantee Schemes Directive which was due to be implemented into national law by July 3, 2015. The countries–Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, Poland, Romania, Slovenia and Sweden– must implement the DGSD within two months. If any of these countries fails to do so, the Commission may refer them to the Court of Justice of the EU. In October, the European Commission referred the Czech Republic, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Romania and Sweden to the Court of Justice of the EU for failing to transpose the Bank Recovery and Resolution Directive into national legislation in time.

The press release is available at: http://europa.eu/rapid/press-release_IP-15-6253_en.htm.