In its 2006 session, the North Carolina General Assembly raised the state minimum wage to $6.15 an hour, effective January 1, 2007. The new minimum wage applies to all nonexempt employees based in North Carolina. In light of the increased minimum wage, the North Carolina Department of Labor (“NCDOL”) has published an updated version of the N.C. Department of Labor Notice to Employees Poster, which all employers are required to post conspicuously in their North Carolina workplaces. Temporary posters are available in both English and Spanish versions and can be downloaded from the NCDOL’s website at http://www.nclabor.com/posters/posters.htm.
Permanent copies may be ordered by filling out the online form at http://www.nclabor.com/posters/NCPosters.html or by calling 1-800-NCLABOR.
Employers should be aware that the change in the North Carolina minimum wage law also means a change in the required minimum rate of pay for “tipped employees,” formerly $2.13 an hour. Employers must now pay $3.13 an hour to employees based in North Carolina who earn at least $3.02 an hour in tips. For tipped employees who earn less than $3.02 an hour in tips, employers must make up the difference and ensure that their employees earn at least $6.15 an hour in cash wages and tips.