New York Department of Financial Services ("NYDFS") Superintendent Linda A. Lacewell appointed several members to the newly established Consumer Protection Task Force. The members will serve three-year terms.

The members are as follows:

  • Chuck Bell, Consumer Reports
  • Elisabeth Benjamin, Community Service Society
  • Carolyn Coffey, Mobilization for Justice
  • Beth Finkel, New York State Office, AARP
  • Jacob (Jay) Inwald, Legal Services NYC
  • Paul Kantwill, Loyola University Chicago School of Law
  • Neha M. Karambelkar, Staff Attorney, Western New York Law Center
  • Kirsten E. Keefe, Empire Justice Center
  • Peter Kochenburger, University of Connecticut Law School
  • Sarah Ludwig, New Economy Project
  • Frankie Miranda, Hispanic Federation
  • Cy Richardson, National Urban League

According to a press release, the task force is aimed at implementing consumer protection proposals highlighted by New York Governor Andrew Cuomo. Specifically, the task force will work to enhance (i) regulatory oversight of debt collectors, (ii) protection against elder abuse, (iii) affordable banking services and (iv) consumer protection laws to defend against unfair, deceptive and abusive practices.