On January 26, 2016, ESMA published the Memoranda of Understanding it entered into with the Financial Services Board of South Africa and the Comisión Nacional Bancaria y de Valores of Mexico. The MoUs are established further to EMIR, under which ESMA is required to set out cooperation arrangements with non-EU authorities whose legal and supervisory framework for non-EU CCPs are deemed to be equivalent to European requirements. The MoUs provide ESMA with the tools to monitor the ongoing compliance of non-EU CCPs with the recognition conditions under EMIR. The MoUs are effective from November 30, 2015 and January 25, 2016 respectively.

The South African Memorandum of Understanding is available at: https://www.esma.europa.eu/sites/default/files/library/signed_mou_for_south_africa_fsb.pdf and the Mexican Memorandum of Understanding is available at: https://www.esma.europa.eu/sites/default/files/library/signed_mou_for_mexico_cnbv.pdf.