On January 8, 2010, President Obama announced the selection of 183 projects in 43 states, including Ohio, that will receive approximately $2.3 billion in Manufacturing Tax Credits under the Federal Stimulus Fund. Seven projects were selected in Ohio including: (1) expansion of the solar PV manufacturing facility of FirstSolar, Inc. in Perrysburg, Ohio; (2) expansion of E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Co.'s production of certain films used in solar PV in Circleville, Ohio; and (3) production of a flexible, lightweight solar cell for easy application on rooftops by Xunlight Corporation in Toledo, Ohio.

The tax credit, established as part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA), was a competitive program aimed at revitalizing manufacturing through the production and manufacturing of certain eligible advanced energy equipment and products. The Manufacturing Tax Credit provides manufacturers with an investment tax credit of 30 percent for facilities that manufacture certain eligible renewable energy equipment. Awards were based on merit, and considered the expected commercial viability of the project, potential job creation, expected air pollutants and greenhouse gas emissions reduction, technological innovation, speed-to-market, and other factors.