On April 23, Sen. Max Baucus (D-MT) announced he would not seek a seventh term in November 2014. His announcement was significant since he chairs the Senate Finance Committee, the committee that oversees all tax policy including energy taxes. Next in line on the Democratic side following retiring Sen. Jay Rockefeller (D-WV) is Sen. Ron Wyden (D-OR), current Chairman of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee. While it is still too early to start thinking about chairmanships in the next Congress, Sen. Baucus’s retirement announcement could cause a leadership shakeup. Should Sen. Wyden decide to chair the Finance Committee, the next Democrat in line to chair the Senate Energy Committee is Sen. Mary Landrieu (D-LA) although she is up for reelection in 2014. Behind Sen. Landrieu on the Energy and Natural Resources Committee is Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-WA). It will be interesting to see the difference between a Landrieu or a Cantwell chairmanship and the Wyden chairmanship in terms of style and policy priorities if the shakeup occurs. In addition, there is the possibility of a Republican takeover of the Senate. Senate Energy and Natural Resources Ranking Member Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), who will be term limited in that role at the end of this session as per party rules, would be first in line to chair the committee.