U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) launched “E-Verify Self Check” on March 21, 2011. The voluntary service enables individuals to check their own employment eligibility status at no charge. USCIS will release E-Verify Self Check in phases, with the first phase accessible only to users who maintain an address and are physically located in Arizona, Idaho, Colorado, Mississippi, Virginia, or the District of Columbia.

For more on the E-Verify Self Check system, see here.

A transcript of the press conference on this topic is available here.

A fact sheet is available here.