Senator Mark Udall (D-CO) reintroduced a quartet of bills May 23 addressing renewable energy and energy efficiency. The first measure would ensure that consumers have access to information on their electric meters to help them make real-time decisions about energy use. The second piece of legislation would help small- and medium-sized renewable and energy efficiency businesses enter into marketing and trade assistance agreements to make their energy efficiency products more competitive for exports. The third bill would expand requirements for a 30 percent renewable energy tax credit to include neighborhood groups and rural cooperatives installing community solar projects. The fourth measure would coordinate information about federal energy efficiency programs and funding sources to help school officials better access the resources.

Senator Tom Coburn (R-OK) introduced legislation (S. 1057) May 25 to repeal the Volumetric Ethanol Tax Credit.

Congressman Paul Tonko (D-NY) introduced legislation (H.R. 1959) May 25 to deny certain tax benefits to oil and gas companies and to invest the savings in clean energy programs.

Congressman Dan Boren (D-OK) introduced legislation (H.R. 1961) to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to eliminate the taxable income limit on the percentage depletion for oil and natural gas produced from marginal properties.

Congressman Jim Gerlach (R-PA) introduced legislation (H.R. 1964) to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to make permanent the special rule for contributions of qualified conservation contributions.  

Senators Jim Inhofe (R-OK) and Olympia Snowe (R-ME) introduced legislation (S. 1085) May 26 to amend the Clean Air Act to define next generation biofuel, and to allow states the option of not participating in the corn ethanol portions of the renewable fuel standard due to conflicts with agricultural, economic, energy, and environmental goals. Congressman Brian Bilbray (R-CA) introduced companion legislation (H.R. 2009) the same day.

Senator Mark Udall (D-CO) introduced legislation (S. 1093) to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to provide that solar energy property need not be located on the property with respect to which it is generating electricity in order to qualify for the residential energy efficient property credit.  

Senators Bernie Sanders (I-VT), John Boozman (R-AR), and Jeff Bingaman (D-NM) introduced the 10 Million Solar Roofs Act of 2011 (S. 1108); the legislation will provide local communities with tools to make solar permitting more efficient.  

Senators Tom Udall (D-NM), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), and Ben Cardin (D-MD) introduced legislation (S. 1115) to establish centers of excellence for green infrastructure.  

Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI) introduced legislation (S. 1126) to amend the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 to authorize the Secretary of Energy to insure loans for financing of renewable energy systems leased for residential use.

Congressman Peter DeFazio (R-OR) introduced legislation (H.R. 2003) May 26 to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to impose a tax on transactions in oil futures, options, and swaps.