With the close of the February 18 deadline to file candidacies, several third party candidates were among hopefuls to officially join the fray. Joining Governor Ted Strickland and Republican candidate John Kasich in competing in the race for Governor will be Dennis Spisak, who filed as a Green Party candidate, and Ken Matesz, the Libertarian Party candidate. Unique among all statewide candidates is Ohio Supreme Court Justice Paul Pfeifer, a Republican who faces no opposition in the primary or general elections this year.

In other statewide races, the two state treasurer hopefuls, incumbent Democrat Kevin Boyce and Rep. Josh Mandel (R-Lyndhurst), are unopposed in their primaries. Two other Democrats, Hamilton County Commissioner David Pepper, who is running for state auditor, and incumbent Attorney General Richard Cordray, face no primary opposition.

Democrat Maryellen O'Shaughnessy, clerk of Franklin County Common Pleas Court, is unopposed in the primary for secretary of state. Sen. Jon Husted (R-Kettering) faces a secretary of state primary contest against former Ashtabula County Auditor Sandra O'Brien.