On 4 July 2012, the National Greenhouse Gas Emission Allowances (Allocation) Decree (Nationaal toewijzingsbesluit broeikasgasemissierechten) was published in the Dutch Government Gazette (Staatscourant).

This decree sets out the quantity of emission allowances that is allocated per year free of charge to the parties that are required to participate in the trading of greenhouse gas emission allowances over the period 2013-2020. Compared to previous years, there has been a reduction in the number of activities that are eligible for the free allocation of allowances. The most noteworthy change in this regard is that, with effect from 1 January 2013, electricity producers will no longer be entitled to free allowances.