On 29 June, pursuant to the Regulations Amending the Special Economic Measures (Russia) Regulations (SOR/2015-178), the Canadian government added fourteen entities to its economic sanctions list against Russia on the recommendation of the Minister of Foreign Affairs pursuant to subsections 4(1) to (3) of the Special Economic Measures Act S.C. 1992, c. 17. The additions, brought in as a response to the actions of Russianbacked militants in Ukraine, include oil and gas firms (1) OJSC Gazprom Neft, (2) OJSC Surgutneftegas and (3) Transneft OAO.

The Canadian government also added three individuals, all of who are leaders of the Eurasian Youth Union, to its economic sanctions list: (1) Aleksandr Dugin, (2) Pavel Kanishchev and (3) Andrey Kovalenko.