The UN Security Council has adopted Resolution 2136 (2014), which renews the arms embargo, financial and travel measures imposed on the Democratic Republic of the Congo (“DRC”) by Resolution 1807 (2008) until 1 February 2015.

The arms embargo targets armed groups in the DRC which are not part of the government’s integrated army or police units, and prohibits the direct or indirect supply, sale or transfer of arms or related materiel, from member states’ territories or by their nationals, or using their flag vessel or aircraft to such groups. The financial and travel measures target, amongst others, individuals and entities: designated by the Security Council Committee established to oversee DRC sanctions; violating the arms embargo; actively engaging in the armed conflict; or acting on behalf of or at the direction of a designated individual or entity.

The Security Council also called on the Secretary General to extend the mandate of the Group of Experts established pursuant to Resolution 1533 (2004), which is tasked with supporting the Security Council Committee established to oversee DRC sanctions by monitoring the implementation of the sanctions.

Security Council Resolution 2136 (2014) (PDF)

Security Council Resolution 1807 (2008) (PDF)