On 19 December 2016, the Customs Tariff Commission of the State Council issued a notice to announce the 2017 Tariff Adjustment Plan which took effect on 1 January 2017.

• The first round of duty reduction on imported information technology products, which are listed in the Amendment to Tariff Concession Schedule of the Accession of the People's Republic of China into the WTO, was initiated on 15 September 2016, and will be implemented continually from 1 January 2017 to 30 June 2017. Starting from 1 July 2017, the second round of duty reduction will be implemented.

• The conventional duty rate of certain products under the Free Trade Agreements between China and Australia, Pakistan, Switzerland, Iceland, Costa Rica, South Korea, New Zealand, and Peru, and the Closer Economic Partnership Arrangements between the Mainland and Hong Kong, and Macao have been further reduced.

• The products subject to export customs duty have been reduced from 250 items of 2016 to 213 items. Certain minerals (such as fused magnesia, cobalt ores and concentrates), fertilizers (such as urea) and raw materials (such as non-alloy tin) are no longer subject to export customs duty.