By law, all foreign visitors to Canada require a temporary resident visa prior to travelling to Canada, except citizens of countries where an exemption has been granted. Citizens of Estonia, Poland, Slovakia, Lithuania, Czech Republic and Hungary no longer require a temporary resident visa to enter Canada. This allows citizens of these six countries to travel to Canada without the need of first applying for a visa. Applicants from these countries who are applying for work and study permits may now apply at the port of entry for these permits, provided other criteria are met. These countries join the ranks of all other European Union countries, except for Bulgaria and Romania, whose citizens do not require temporary resident visas to travel to Canada. It is expected that Bulgaria and Romania may become visa exempt as well.

Changes including lifting of visa restrictions