On Tuesday, October 30, 2007, the Premier of Ontario brought forward his new post-election Cabinet. A total of 28 Cabinet assignments were made, with nine women comprising key portfolios.

A number of important changes were made to the existing Cabinet to accommodate new candidates that won seats in the election and, to promote (or in some cases demote) existing MPP’s. Of particular note are the following:

  • Hon. Gerry Phillips moves from the Ministry of Government Services to the Ministry of Energy.
  • Hon. Dwight Duncan is now the Minister of Finance.
  • Hon. Michael Bryant has been assigned to be the new Minister of Aboriginal Affairs moving from the Attorney General position.
  • Hon. Chris Bentley is now the Attorney General of Ontario.
  • Hon. Donna Cansfield replaces David Ramsay as the Minister of Natural Resources and Mr. Ramsay is removed from Cabinet.
  • Hon. Margarett Best, a newly elected MPP from Scarborough-Guildwood, is now the Minister of Health Promotion.
  • Hon. John Gerretsen moves from Municipal Affairs to the Ministry of the Environment and Laurel Broten moves to become Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Health and Long-Term Care.

In the welcoming address following the swearing in ceremony of the new Cabinet, Premier McGuinty outlined a number of key priorities for the Liberal Government in an effort to position his second mandate as "activist". Key priorities include:

  • Strengthen Medicare by addressing chronic diseases and hiring more physicians and nurses.
  • Reduce gridlock by expanding public transit.
  • Move to establish the "Next Generation Jobs Fund" to support the building of an innovative economy.
  • Expand home care for seniors and assist in paying their increased property taxes.

Below is a complete list of the new Ontario Cabinet