The Commissioners, approved since February 2016, were sworn in at the beginning of November 2016, at the East African Commission’s Headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. The Commissioners comprise one from each partner state (Burundi, Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda and Uganda).

These are the very first Commissioners to serve the EAC Competition Authority. This is a further important step in bringing this new regional regulator online.