As we embark on a new year, take note of the minimum wage in each state and comply with any increases that begin in 2018.

Unless otherwise indicated, the following minimum wage increases are effective January 1, 2018:

Jurisdiction

Rate

Comment

Federal $7.25 No change
Alabama $7.25 No change
Alaska $9.84
Arizona $10.50
  • Flagstaff: $11.00
Arkansas $8.50 No change
California
  • Employers with 26 employees or more: $11.00
  • Employers with 25 or fewer employees: $10.50
  • Berkeley: $13.75 (Increase to 15.00 effective October 1, 2018)
  • Cupertino: $13.50
  • El Cerrito: $13.60
  • Emeryville
    • 55 employees or more: $15.20 (Increase to $15.60 effective July 1, 2018, though the rate may change based on consumer price index)
    • 54 employees or fewer: $14.00 (Increase to $15.00 effective July 1, 2018)
  • Long Beach
    • 26 or more employees: $11.00
    • 25 or fewer employees: $10.50
  • Los Altos: $13.50
  • Los Angeles (city and county)
    • 26 or more employees: $12.00 (Increase to $13.25 effective July 1, 2018)
    • 25 or fewer employees: $10.50 (Increase to $12.00 effective July 1, 2018)
  • Malibu: $12.00 (Increase to $13.25 effective July 1, 2018)
  • Milpitas: $12.00
  • Mountain View: $15.00
  • Oakland: $12.86
  • Palo Alto: $13.50
  • Pasadena: $13.50
  • Richmond: $13.41
  • San Diego: $11.50
  • San Francisco: $14.00 (Increase to $15.00 effective July 1, 2018)
  • San Jose: $13.50
  • San Leandro: $12.00 (Increase to $13.00 effective July 1, 2018)
  • San Mateo
    • General industry employers: $13.50
    • 501(c)(3) nonprofit employers: $12.00
  • Santa Clara: $13.00
  • Santa Monica
    • Employers with 26 or more employees: $12.00 (Increase to $13.25 effective July 1, 2018)
    • Employees with 25 or fewer employees: $10.50 (Increase to $12.00 effective July 1, 2018)
  • Sunnyvale: $15.00
Colorado $10.20
  • Tipped employees: $6.28
Connecticut $10.10
  • Bartenders: $8.23
  • Wait staff: $6.38
Delaware $8.25
  • Tipped employees: $2.23
No change
District of Columbia $12.50
  • Tipped employees: $3.33
Florida $8.25
  • Tipped employees: $5.08
Georgia
  • Employers covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act: $7.25
  • Employers not-covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act: $5.15
Hawaii $10.10
  • Tipped employees: $9.35
Idaho $7.25
  • Tipped employees: $3.35
  • Training wage for employees under 20 years old (first 90 calendar days of employment): $4.25
No change
Illinois $8.25
  • Chicago:
    • Non-tipped employees: $11.00 (Increase to $12.00 effective July 1, 2018.)
    • Tipped employees: $6.10. (An increase will be announced on or before June 1, 2018.)
  • Cook County: $10.00 (Increase to $11.00 effective July 1, 2018.)
Indiana $7.25 No change
Iowa $7.25 No change
Kansas $7.25 No change
Kentucky $7.25 No change
Louisiana $7.25 No change
Maine $10.00
  • Portland: $10.68 (no change)
Maryland $9.25
  • Increase to $10.10 effective July 1, 2018
  • Tipped Employees: Employer must pay at least $3.63 and must earn minimum wage per hour including tips
  • Employees under 20: must earn at least 85% of the minimum wage for the first 6 months of employment ($8.59 effective July 1, 2018)
  • Montgomery County: $11.50
  • Prince George’s County:$11.50
Massachusetts $11 No change
Michigan $9.25
Minnesota
  • $9.65 for enterprises with an annual gross revenue of $500,000 or more (increase from $9.50)
  • $7.87 for enterprises with an annual gross revenue of less than $500,00; 90-day training wage for employees under 20 years of age; and youth under 18 years of age (increase from $7.75)
Mississippi $7.25 No change
Missouri $7.85
Montana $8.30
Nebraska $9 No change
Nevada $8.25 No change
New Hampshire $7.25 No change
New Jersey $8.60
New Mexico $7.50
  • Albuquerque: $8.95; $7.95 if employer provides healthcare and./or childcare benefits in excess of $2,5000 annually; $5.35 for tipped employees
  • Bernalillo County: $8.85 (increase form $8.70)
  • Las Cruces: $9.20 (no change)
  • Santa Fe: $11.09 (no change)
New York $10.40
  • Note: On December 31, 2018, there will be an increase to $11.10
  • New York City: $13.00 for employers of 11 or more beginning December 31, 2017
  • Long Island (Nassau and Suffolk Counties) and Westchester County: $11.00 beginning on December 31, 2017 (increasing to $12.00 on December 31, 2018)
North Carolina $7.25 No change
Ohio $8.30
Oklahoma $7.25 No change
Oregon $10.25
  • Increase to $10.75 on July 1, 2018
  • Portland Metro: $11.25 (increase to $11.25 on July 1, 2018)
  • Nonurban counties: $10.00 — increasing to $10.50 on July 1, 2018
Pennsylvania $7.25 No change
Puerto Rico $7.25 No change
Rhode Island $10.10
  • Tipped employees: $3.89
South Carolina $7.25 No change
South Dakota $8.65
  • Tipped employees: $4.33
Tennessee $7.25 No change
Texas $7.25
  • Tipped employees: $2.13
Utah $7.25 No change
Vermont $10.50
Virginia $7.25 No change
Washington Washington: $11.50
  • Seattle
    • Employers with 501 or more employees: $15.00
    • Small employers with 500 or fewer employees: $14.00 (minimum compensation). Note: the minimum wage is $11.50 and an employer can reach $14.00 through tips and/or payment towards an employee’s medical benefits plan.
    • Tacoma: $12.00
    • Seattle-Tacoma Washington Airport Hospitality and Transportation employers: $15.64
West Virginia $8.75 No change
Wisconsin $7.25 No change
Wyoming $7.25 No change

Penalties for non-compliance vary by state. Nevertheless, it is important that all employers begin complying with any increases on the effective date or face fines and litigation.