On 7 May 2015, the EU Council adopted Council Regulation (EU) 2015/735, repealing Council Regulation (EU) No 748/2014, and Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/740, repealing Council Decision 2014/449/CFSP, regarding sanctions concerning South Sudan. This new legislation does not change the sanctions in place in respect of South Sudan, it simply amalgamates various regimes.

As a result, the existing restrictive measures, including asset freezes and travel bans, remain in place, and the list of designated persons and entities is unchanged. Further restrictive measures may be imposed on persons identified as obstructing the political process in South Sudan or committing serious violations of human rights.