On 7 April, pursuant to Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2015/548, implementing Council Regulation (EU) 359/2011, and Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/555, amending Council Decision 2011/235/CFSP, the EU extended its Iranian human rights-related sanctions until 13 April 2016. Individuals and entities included on the sanctions list are subject to an EU-wide asset freeze and travel ban. Introduced in April 2011, these sanctions target individuals and entities complicit in or responsible for directing or implementing human rights violations.

As well as extending these sanctions, the EU also updated the listings of 47 individuals and the Centre to Investigate Organized Crime and removed three individuals from the list: (1) Mousa Khalil Elahi, (2) Nabiollah Heydari and (3) Gholomani Rezvani.