On November 14, 2015, five equivalence decisions on the regulatory regimes for CCPs under EMIR were published in the Official Journal of the European Union. These relate to Canada, Mexico, South Korea, South Africa and Switzerland. The legal and supervisory arrangements of these jurisdictions are considered to be equivalent to the requirements set out in EMIR. Equivalence decisions for CCP regimes have previously been given only for Australia, Hong Kong, Singapore and Japan. A decision for the US is still outstanding due to the differing margin requirements for exchange-traded derivatives.

The equivalence decision for Canada is available at: http://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=uriserv:OJ.L_.2015.298.01.0032.01.ENG.

The equivalence decision for Mexico is available at: http://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=uriserv:OJ.L_.2015.298.01.0038.01.ENG.

The equivalence decision for South Korea is available at: http://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=uriserv:OJ.L_.2015.298.01.0025.01.ENG.

The equivalence decision for South Africa is available at: http://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=uriserv:OJ.L_.2015.298.01.0029.01.ENG.

The equivalence decision for Switzerland is available at: http://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=uriserv:OJ.L_.2015.298.01.0042.01.ENG.