On April 10, the Safe Climate Caucus wrote to House Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton and Energy and Power Subcommittee Chairman Ed Whitfield requesting a debate on the House floor about climate change dangers and policy. The caucus members said they were unaware of any instance of a Republican talking about the dangers climate change on the House floor. The letter was signed by 20 of the 25 members of the caucus; the signers were Rep. Henry Waxman (D-CA), Rep. Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Rep. Raul Grijalva (D-AZ), Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-NY), Rep. Peter Welch (D-VT), Rep. Donna Edwards (D-MD), Rep. Hank Johnson (D-GA), Rep. Jim Moran (D-VA), Rep. Bobby Rush (D-IL), Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA), Rep. Lois Capps (D-CA), Rep. Rush Holt (D-NJ), Rep. Jared Huffman (D-CA), Rep. Doris Matsui (D-CA), Rep. John Garamendi (D-CA), Rep. Paul Tonko (D-NY), Rep. Ben Ray Lujan (D-NM), Rep. Keith Ellison (D-MN), and Rep. Ed Markey (D-MA).