The Payments Council Board (PCB) announced the appointment of three new independent directors to its board on 15 July 2014.  Sarah Chambers, Christine Farnish CBE and Robert Lerwill will join Clare Spottiswoode CBE, who currently sits as an independent director on the PCB.  The PCB is made up of 15 voting directors (including four independent directors), a voting independent chairman and an observer from the Bank of England.  Each independent director holds one voting seat and any two independent directors have the power of veto.

What this means for you

The Payments Council is responsible for ensuring that payment services work in the UK.   One of the Payments Council’s core objectives is to ensure the operational efficiency, effectiveness and integrity of payment services in the UK.  Participating in the Payment Council’s customer and industry forums provides interested parties with an opportunity to provide their views on key issues and developments