In a move applauded by the wireless industry, House Communications & Technology subcommittee chairman Greg Walden (R-OR) and ranking subcommittee member Anna Eshoo (D-CA) announced the creation of a bipartisan task force on Wednesday that will examine federal spectrum use and how government spectrum resources may be made available for commercial wireless use. Co-chaired by Reps. Brett Guthrie (R-KY) and Doris Matsui (D-CA), the Federal Spectrum Working Group will also include Reps. John Barrow (D-GA), Donna Christensen (D-VI), Diana DeGette (D-CO), Mike Rogers (RMI), Steve Scalise (R-LA), and John Shimkus (R-IL). As part of its mission, the task force will build upon initiatives outlined in spectrum-related provisions of the Middle Class Tax Relief and Job Creation Act. Enacted in February, those provisions authorize incentive auctions of broadcast television spectrum and also call on the federal government to free up some its spectrum resources for private sector use. The National Telecommunications and Information Administration has identified 210 MHz of federal spectrum—representing 40% of the 500 MHz of spectrum that the FCC hopes to allocate for wireless broadband within the next ten years—that can be redirected to commercial carriers. As Walden called on the government to “save taxpayers money and provide its own agencies better technology tools while simultaneously making more frequencies available to meet America’s exploding demand for mobile broadband,” Eshoo recommended a “comprehensive approach to spectrum policy” to meet these goals. Welcoming the lawmakers’ move, wireless association CTIA proclaimed that, “with additional spectrum, the wireless industry can continue to be an engine for economic growth and American leadership.”