On 23 September 2014, a UN Security Council Committee extended its Al-Qaida sanctions list, pursuant to UN Security Council Resolution 2170 (2014), to include 14 individuals and 2 entities affiliated with the Islamic State group. The senior Islamic State group official, Abd al-Rahman Muhammad Mustafa al-Qaduli, has been added after he was released from prison and re-joined the group in 2012. The resolution coincides with US President Barack Obama’s call for an international coalition to fight Islamic State militants. Under the Security Council Resolution 2161 (2014), the individuals will face financial sanctions, a travel ban and an arms embargo.

The list of newly designated individuals consists of: (1) Ahmed Abdullah Saleh al-Khazmari al- Zahrani; (2) Azzam Abdullah Zureik al-Maulid al-Subhi; (3) Anders Cameroon Ostensvig Dale; (4) Ibrahim Suleiman Hamad al-Hablain; (5) Seifallah ben Hassine; (6) Abd al-Rahman bin ‘Umayr al- Nu’aymi; (7) Abd al-Rahman Khalaf ‘Ubayd Juday’ al-‘Anizi; (8) Anas Hasan Khattab; (9) Maysar Ali Musa Abdallah al-Juburi; (10) Shafi Sultan Mohammed al-Ajmi; (11) Abd al-Rahman Muhammad Mustafa al-Qaduli; (12) Emilie Konig; (13) Kevin Guiavarch; and (14) Oumar Diaby.

The list of newly designated entities consists of: (1) Ansar Al-Shari’a in Tunisia; and (2) Abdallah Azzam Brigades.

The 15 member states also voted to “prevent and suppress the recruiting, organising, transporting or equipping of individuals” through “effective border controls and controls on issuance of identity papers and travel documents” in view of combatting terrorist acts and foreign terrorist fighters. Such individuals may be included in the Al-Qaida sanctions list pursuant to UNSC Resolutions 1267 (1999) and 1989 (2011).

UN Al Qaida Sanctions List

UNSC Resolution 2170 (2014)

UNSC Resolution 2161 (2014)

UNSC Resolutions 1267 (1999) and 1989 (2011)