On Thursday, March 19, 2009, President Obama appointed Jon Wellinghoff as Chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission ("FERC"). Wellinghoff has been Acting Chairman of FERC since January 2009 and has been a Commissioner at FERC since 2006. Before his appointment to FERC, Wellinghoff had extensive experience in the private sector and focused on renewable energy, energy efficiency and distributed generation – including being the primary author of the Nevada Renewable Portfolio Standard Act. Wellinghoff is also co-chair of the Demand Response Collaborative, a joint project between FERC and the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners.

In addition to Wellinghoff's designation, President Obama has also re-nominated Suedeen Kelly to another term as a Commissioner at FERC. Kelly's term extension must be confirmed by the Senate. Kelly has served as a Commissioner since November 2003. Kelly has also served as Chair of the New Mexico Public Service Commission and as a professor at the University of New Mexico School of Law.

With former Chairman Kelliher's departure, there is still one vacancy on the Commission. The Obama Administration has not yet announced who it will nominate to fill that position.

Click here for the full release from the White House