The term of the current medical council expired on 31 May 2013. The formation of the new council will be determined in accordance with the provisions of the Medical Practitioners Act 2007. The new 25-seat council comprises:

Six specialist practitioners who have been elected by registered practitioners, namely:

  • Dr Colm O’Herlihy – Obstetrics and Gynaecology
  • Dr Sean Curran – Pathology / Radiology
  • Dr Anthony Breslin – Public Health Medicine
  • Dr Audrey Anne Dillon – Hospital based practitioner
  • Dr Barbie Anne Golden – Anaesthesia
  • Dr Ruairi Hanley – Practitioner not falling within the above catagories

Five members have been appointed by nomination of the Minster for Health and Children, namely:

  • Ms Margaret Murphy – Patient advocate, reappointed to the Council
  • Professor Alan Johnson – Formerly of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
  • Councillor Sally Mulready – UK Labour Party & member of the Irish Council of State
  • Ms Mary Duff – Director of Nursing at St Vincent’s University Hospital in Dublin
  • Ms Katherine Bulbulia - Teacher, former member of Seanad Eireann

The HSE and the Medical Schools have each nominated two members, namely:

  • Ms Cornelia Stuart - Quality and Risk Department, HSE Dublin North East
  • Mr Sean Hurley - Office of the Chief Officer, HSE South
  • Professor Mary Leader - Professor of Pathology, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
  • Professor Fidelma Dunne - Professor of Medicine, National University of Ireland

The following members have been nominated by various bodies:

  • Mr John Nesbit - Secondary School Teacher
  • Ms Anne Carrigy - Former President of the Nursing Board
  • Ms Catherine Whelan - Chief Executive Independent Hospitals Association
  • Dr Michael Ryan - Former President of the Royal Irish Academy
  • Ms Marie Kehoe Smith - Regional General Manager, HSE
  • Dr John Barragry - Consultant, Adelaide & Meath Hospital
  • Professor Freddie Wood - Consultant, Mater Private Hospital
  • Dr Rita Doyle - General Practitioner
  • Dr Consilia Walsh - Consultant psychiatrist, St Vincent's
  • Mr Declan Carey - Social Worker

The Medical Council has elected Professor Freddie Wood as President and Dr Audrey Anne Dillon as Vice-President for the duration of its term.

Membership of the council expires after five years, and no member can serve on more than two consecutive councils. There is a lay majority of 13 non-medical representatives. However, the President and Vice-President must be registered medical practitioners. A Chief Executive Officer is appointed to manage the administration of the council, and may be either a lay person or may have a medical background.