Effective January 1, 2012, employers with 50 or more "service workers" in Connecticut must provide up to 40 hours of paid sick leave under a new Connecticut law. A "service worker" is an employee who is paid by the hour and works in one of the 68 occupations defined by the federal Bureau of Labor Statistics Standard Occupational Classification System. Service workers will earn one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours worked, with a cap of five days per year, and can carry up to 40 hours of sick leave into the next calendar year. However, they cannot use more than 40 hours of leave in any year. The statute exempts certain industries and nonprofit organizations. In what appears to be an emerging trend, Connecticut joins San Francisco and Washington D.C., both of which require paid sick leave. Similar legislation is anticipated in Philadelphia and Seattle.