On October 19, Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Vermont, and the District of Columbia filed a motion in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit seeking permission to intervene in support of the Environmental Protection Agency’s Cross-State Air Pollution Rule. The rule, released by EPA on July 7, orders power plants in 27 states to mitigate the movement of sulfur dioxide and nitrogen oxides to downwind states to help those states meet national ambient air quality standards for ozone and fine particulate matter. The rule has been challenged numerous times, all of which were consolidated into EME Homer City Generation LP v. EPA.