The Environmental Protection Agency released a final rule May 1 designating 45 areas in nonattainment of the 2008 ozone air quality standard, with another expected by the end of the month. The final designations are the agencyʼs next step in implementing the zone standard of 0.075 ppm. The process had been delayed while the administration considered establishing a more protective standard. For the purposes of transportation conformity, the rule, which includes more areas than previously expected, also revokes the less stringent 1997 ozone standard of 0.08 ppm.