1. Introduction

The EU has introduced new sanctions measures, namely the following:

  • The addition of 11 ‘rebel’ names to the Ukraine asset freeze list; and
  • The introduction of an asset freeze in relation to South Sudan, currently listing two individuals.
  1. Expansion of Ukraine asset freeze

The EU has decided to add another 11 persons who are deemed responsible for pro-separatist activities in Ukraine to the list of parties subject to a visa ban and asset freeze under Regulation 269/2014 (i.e. in relation to actions undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine). This change was introduced through Implementing Regulation 753/2014,which entered into force on 12 July 2014, and brings the total count of this designated parties list to 72 persons and two entities (see our alert from 29 April 2014 on the latest expansion of this list here). (This designated parties list is separate from the EU asset freeze list in relation to alleged misappropriation of Ukrainian state funds and human rights violations in Ukraine, which currently features 22 persons.2)

The 11 persons designated as of 12 July 2014 are as follows:

  1. Aleksandr Yurevich BORODAI (Александр Юрьевич Бородай) (so-called ‘Prime Minister of People's Republic of Donetsk’)
  2. Alexander KHODAKOVSKY (Александр Сергеевич Ходаковский) (so- called ‘Minister of Security of People's Republic of Donetsk’)
  3. Alexandr Aleksandrovich KALYUSSKY (Александр Александрович Калюсский) (so-called ‘de facto Deputy Prime Minister for Social Affairs of DPR’)
  4. Alexander KHRYAKOV (so-called ‘Information and Mass Communications Minister of DPR’)
  5. Marat BASHIROV (so-called ‘Prime Minister of the Council of Ministers of the People's Republic of Luhansk, confirmed on 8 Jul’)
  6. Vasyl NIKITIN (so-called ‘Vice Prime Minister of the Council of Ministers of the People's Republic of Luhansk’)
  7. Aleksey KARYAKIN (Алексей Карякин) (so-called ‘Supreme Council Chair of the People's Republic of Luhansk’)
  8. Yurij IVAKIN (Юрий Ивакин) (so-called ‘Minister of Internal Affairs of the People's Republic of Luhansk’)
  9. Igor PLOTNITSKY (so-called ‘Defence Minister of the People's Republic of Luhansk’)
  10. Nikolay KOZITSYN (Commander of Cossack forces)
  11. Oleksiy MOZGOVY (Олексій Мозговий) (one of the leaders of armed groups in Eastern Ukraine)

As a result of the asset freeze, all funds and economic resources belonging to, or controlled by, the listed persons and that fall under EU jurisdiction (e.g., held by EU banks) will be frozen. Furthermore, no funds or economic resources may be made available – directly or indirectly – to or for the benefit of the listed persons by parties falling under EU jurisdiction.

  1. Expansion of South Sudan sanctions with new asset freeze

On 11 July 2014, the EU expanded its existing sanctions against South Sudan to feature not only an arms embargo but also an asset freeze against designated parties who are deemed responsible for acts of violence or violations of ceasefire agreements, as well as serious violations of human rights. The new asset freeze has been introduced through Council Regulation 748/2014,3 which was published on 11 July 2014 and entered into force on the same day.

Two names currently feature on the EU’s South Sudan asset freeze list, namely Santino DENG (Commander of the third Infantry Division of the Sudan People's Liberation Army (SPLA)) and Peter GADET (Leader of the anti-government Nuer militia).