On Tuesday, June 24, 2014, the Premier of Ontario Kathleen Wynne announced the composition of her Executive Council or Cabinet. A number of senior ministers are taking on new and in some cases expanded responsibilities, while a number of experienced MPPs are being appointed to Cabinet for the first time. Other changes include the restructuring of various ministries. For example, the Ministry of Finance and Treasury Board is now being divided into two separate ministries  with two Ministers.

In addition to the new appointments, a new category of cabinet appointment is being established, that is, the “Associate Minister” in a number of key ministries.

Below is a summary of the new Cabinet structure that may be of interest to BLG’s clients and contacts.

The New Cabinet

Kathleen Wynne

Premier, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs

Charles Sousa

Minister of Finance (formerly Minister of Finance and Treasury Board Chair)

Deb Matthews

President, Treasury Board, Deputy Premier (moved from the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care)

Mitzie Hunter

Associate Minister of Finance (new appointment with responsibility for the new Ontario Retirement Pension Plan)

Eric Hoskins

Minister of Health and Long-Term Care (formerly the Minister of Economic Development and Trade)

Dipika Damerla

Associate Minister of Health and Long-Term Care

Glen Murray

Minister of Environment and Climate Change (moved from the Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure)

Steven Del Duca

Minister of Transportation (new appointment)

Brad Duguid

Minister of Economic Development, Employment and Infrastructure (moved from the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities to this newly expanded Ministry)

Reza Moridi

Minister of Research and Innovation is now also the Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities

Michael Coteau

Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sports and the 2015 Pam Am Games (moved from the Ministry of Citizenship, Immigration and Trade)

Michael Chan

Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and Trade (moved from the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sports and the 2015Pam Am Games)

Ted McKeekin

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing (moved from the Ministry of Community and Social Services)

Yasir Naqvi

Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services and Government House Leader (added responsibility)

Helena Jaczek

Minister of Community and Social Services

Bill Mauro

Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry (moved from Municipal Affairs and Housing)

Jeff Leal

Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (takes over the Agriculture portfolio from the Premier)

Tracy McCharles

Minister of Children and Youth Services and Minister Responsible for Women’s Issues (moved from the Ministry of Consumer Services)

David Orazietti

Minister of Consumer Services and Government Services (moved from the Ministry of Natural Resources)

Bob Chiarelli

Minister of Energy

Liz Sandals

Minister of Education

Madeleine Meilleur

Attorney General and Minister of Francophone Affairs

Michael Gravelle

Minister of Northern Affairs and Mines

Kevin Flynne

Minister of Labour

Mario Sergio

Minister Responsible for Seniors Affairs

David Zimmer

Minister of Aboriginal Issues

Jim Bradley

Minister without Portfolio and Chair of Cabinet (moved from the Ministry of Environment)

Bob Delaney

Chief Government Whip

Next Steps

Over the next four to six weeks, the new Ministers will spend a significant amount of time restructuring their offices with political staff. In addition, Ministers will be briefed by senior civil servants on the key issues facing their government departments. Select meetings with external stakeholders will also take place in an effort to manage these groups, obtain some understanding of their policy demands and the expectations they have of the new government.