On August 15th, USCIS announced its expansion of the availability of its E-Verify Self Check program so that it is now available to residents of sixteen states, in addition to those included in the program’s initial launch.  Specifically, Self Check is now accessible to residents of California, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, and Washington.  As of its initial launch in March 2011, Self Check was made available in Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Mississippi, Virginia, and the District of Columbia.

                In addition, the Self Check program is now available in Spanish, which will make it easier for Spanish speakers to check up on their employment status in the United States, and thus discover and address any possible employment status issues, before applying for a job.  Users of Self Check can access the same information available to potential employers through E-Verify, which provides employers information regarding an applicant’s availability to work based on what is contained in his I-9 (Employment Eligibility Verification).

                Beyond the success of this initial expansion, USCIS is looking to spread the availability of the Self Check program further so that by Spring 2012 it will be made available nationwide.