Non-EU/EFTA nationals Service providers from EU/EFTA states

On October 12 2016 the Federal Council announced that the total number of work permits submitted to quotas for 2017 will be increased from 8,750 (in 2016) to 9,750 (in 2017).

Non-EU/EFTA nationals

In order to provide the Swiss economy with the requisite amount of permits in 2017, the Federal Council decided to allocate 7,500 permits (4,500 L-permits and 3,000 B-permits) for highly qualified nationals. In 2016 6,500 permits (4,000 L-permits and 2,500 B-permits) were available for non-EU and non-European Free Trade Association (EFTA) nationals. Hence, the available number of permits for 2017 for non-EU/EFTA nationals has increased by 1,000 permits.

Service providers from EU/EFTA states

For 2017 the Federal Council is reserving 2,000 L-permits and 250 B-permits for service providers of EU/EFTA member countries. These quotas remain the same as in 2016. In order to be eligible for these special permits, a worker must be seeking to provide services in Switzerland for more than 90 days or 120 days in a calendar year.

For further information on this topic please contact Vera Lavvas or Adrian Howald at Suter Howald Attorneys at Law by telephone (+41 44 630 4811) or email ( or The Suter Howald Attorneys at Law website can be accessed at

This article was first published by the International Law Office, a premium online legal update service for major companies and law firms worldwide. Register for a free subscription.