Increased security measures have been put in place from 9th May 2018 to 25th July 2018 to ensure safety and additional precautions are taken during the 2018 FIFA World Cup in several key cities: 

Kaliningrad, Kazan, Moscow, Nizhny Novgorod, Rostov-on-Don, Saint Petersburg, Samara, Saransk, Sochi, Volgograd and Yekaterinburg. 

All foreign and Russian nationals arriving from abroad or from other Russian regions to the above mentioned areas will need to submit documents to local migration authorities at their place of stay in Russia. Foreign nationals must do so within 24 hours of arrival and Russian nationals within 3 business days.  Failure to do so could result in fines or the prospect of deportation from Russia. An exemption exists for foreign nationals included on official FIFA lists.   Foreign employees are to be registered at the address of their employer and dependents at the address of the apartment where they reside.