The Treaty of Lisbon came into force on 1 December 2009. It amends the two fundamental treaties on which the EU is founded – the Treaty on European Union and the Treaty establishing the European Community, with the latter to be known in future as the ‘Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union’ (TFEU).

Amongst many other things, The Treaty of Lisbon makes some changes to the EU court structure. The European Court of Justice (ECJ) will now be known as the Court of Justice. The lower court, the Court of First Instance, will now be called the General Court. The Court of Justice of the European Union will be the new collective name for these two courts.

Click here for a copy of the EUROPA press release