Right-to-work laws were on the ballot in several states this past Election Day. Alabama became the ninth state to add right-to-work language to its state's constitution. South Dakota voters rejected an initiative that would have negated the effects of right-to-work laws by allowing unions to charge non-union workers fees for services received under union contracts. In contrast, Virginia voters rejected a ballot measure that would have added right-to-work language to its state constitution. However, because Virginia already has a right-to-work law, this vote will not change the state’s policy. Additionally, in the aftermath of Republican election victories in Kentucky, Missouri, and New Hampshire, lawmakers plan to introduce additional right-to-work bills in 2017. To date, 26 states have enacted right-to-work laws.