On November 18, the California DBO announced that a California-based lender fulfilled its obligation to pay nearly $1 million of restitution to more than 7,000 California consumers and $1 million to the DBO in penalties to resolve allegations that the company used deceptive marketing practices to steer consumers into personal loans exceeding $2,500. California state law limits interest rates at about 30% for loans less than $2,500, but there is no such limit above that amount. According to the DBO, the lender advertised that it provided personal loans of “up to” $2,600, $5,000, or $10,000; in reality, the lender did not offer loans less than $2,600. The lender allegedly told consumers that they could “give back the amount they did not want in the form of a prepayment,” without disclosing that it could then charge borrowers unlimited interest rates since the loan was greater than $2,500. Per the February 5 settlement, in addition to the restitution and penalty fees, the lender must, among other things, ensure that its non-mortgage and non-auto loan ads disclose, in a “clear and conspicuous manner,” that the minimum loan amount is $2,600, that there is a state law interest rate cap on loans of less than $2,500, and that it is lower than the rate charged by the lender.