On 17 November, the Council of the European Union announced its intention to “adopt additional listings targeting separatists” in response to the ongoing crisis in Eastern Ukraine. Persons listed will become subject to the current regime of asset freezes and travel bans.  The Council plans to agree on the additional persons to be designated by the end of November.

While the Council “once again underline[d] the Russian Federation’s responsibility in this context”, it did not resolve to impose additional sanctions on Russia.  Federica Mogherini, the new High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, stated that “Russia is part of the problem but it is also for sure part of the solution”.

EU Council Press release