The Singapore-Ireland Double Tax Agreement (“DTA”), which was signed in October 2010 came into force on 8 April 2011, with effect from 1 January 2011.

The agreement is designed to encourage and facilitate cross-border trade between the two countries by providing greater clarity and minimising the scope for double taxation. It is Singapore’s 65th DTA and Ireland’s 62nd. The key provisions of the DTA cover treatment of dividends, interest, royalties and capital gains. The DTA also provides for the internationally agreed standards regarding the exchange of information for tax purposes upon request. Please contact us for the full text of the DTA.