On August 19, 2010, the Florida Public Service Commission Nominating Council recommended seven candidates for two vacancies on the Florida Public Service Commission. Gov. Charlie Crist will have 30 days to select replacements for outgoing commissioners Nancy Argenziano and Nathan Skop. The two new members of the five-member commission will take office on January 1, 2011.

The seven recommended candidates are:

  • Term-limited Sen. Lee Constantine (R-Altamonte Springs)
  • Former Public Service Commission Executive Director Mary Bane
  • Former Missouri Public Service Commission member Connie Murray
  • State Senate legislative analyst Kevin Wiehle
  • West Palm Beach Assistant City Administrator Eduardo Balbis
  • Former Progress Energy engineer James S. Bausmark
  • Former Tampa Assistant City Attorney Julie I. Brown