Today, five federal regulatory agencies – the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB), the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) and the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) – issued a joint release encouraging financial institutions to "work with customers affected by the federal government shutdown." The agencies encourage financial institutions to "consider prudent workout arrangements" with regard to borrowers who are facing a temporary hardship in making payments on debts, and said that "prudent efforts to modify terms on existing loans should not be subject to examiner criticism." For more, read the full press release.