Nebraska, Florida, Alabama, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, and Virginia filed a lawsuit in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit on September 23 claiming that the Environmental Protection Agency inappropriately implemented the Cross-State Air Pollution Rule through federal implementation plans. The states argue that the agency should have let states develop their own plans to meet air quality standards and have asked for a stay of portions of the rule.